how hard is it to make it???

valooz

Hi there...

I'm British, but I currently live and work in France, in a music and sound equipment shop, and do FOH sound for three different bands on weekends, as well as stage manager and FOH sound tech for the local venues...

I have been mixing live events for about three years now, and have at least 100 concerts under my belt, maybe even 150, I've lost count.

I have worked with many well known French bands, and even some international ones, and up till now, I don't seem to have disappointed anyone, so I'm pretty sure I'm good at what I do...

The thing is that I live and work in a fairly remote area of France, and the career prospects aren't really very encouraging..

So, I've been considering moving back to the UK; London to be specific, but I'm really not aware of the professional situation there at the moment...

I mean, I'm perfectly aware I'm not going to walk out of Heathrow airport, trip over a guy carrying a guitar, go down to the pub and sign a 150 gig contract with him, but I would think the prospects for working with a band that might actually get somewhere are slightly better than where I am now, aren't they??

Anyway, I was just hoping to get some of your opinions on this career move, and if any of you think it's wise, or not, and I would be interested at the same time to hear some of your stories on how you got into the business yourselves...

Thanks a lot...

I know it isn't what you're asking, but are you SURE you would rather live in London than the south of France? I guess it's a priorities thing, and I don't know your experience of the UK, but I know where I'd rather live!

hehe

I was kind of expecting this....

If it was just about lifestyle, of course I would stay here, but profesionally speaking, I'm not exactly in the music and cultural Capital of the world...