Rigging

Alexb_01

Hi,

I'm hoping you can enlighten me in the H&S related to rigging,

I am a student in a secondary school in charge of lighting, until recently there was a person older then me who use to rig the lights (I don't know if he was officially allowed...) Now I want to know if its possible if I could rig the lights and what should be done before I do so.

I have heard from another person that in the past students were insured to rig lights - this is just what I heard I don't know the validity of this.

Our lights our mostly on a rig suspended from the ceiling, I'm guessing its probably about 20 Ft in the air if not more. We have a cherry picker which one climbs up to rig the lights.

If I wanted to rig these lights myself would adequate risk assessments do or would I need to go on a course or something similar.

Before it is asked there is a member of staff supposedly in charge of the technical stuff, unfortunately he has little interest in the lighting and the rigging. If I want something rigging it seems I ask him what I want and it never gets done. Furthermore he is new to the realms of stage lighting himself so doesn't give it much importance or time and effort.

If there is anyone else who is in charge of lighting at their school I would love to hear about the situation in your school.

Thanks in advance,

Alex

.... there is a member of staff supposedly in charge of the technical stuff, unfortunately he has little interest in the lighting and the rigging.

...nevertheless, he is the only person who can answer your question with any authority. Ask him.

Anything you are told here is just speculation. It'll probably be completely correct speculation, but speculation nonetheless...

Your school and it's staff have statutory responsibility for your wellbeing, Only they can decide what is reasonable in your situation, please ask your assigned staff member.