Cue Lights

I'm just starting out in the world of Theatre. Currently an Apprentice at the Local College !!

As a Project I've been asked to Make a Cue Light System for the 90 Seater Studio Theatre I work in.

It needs a Master Station, Remote Stations, Using XLR Cable and run along the T/L

It needs to Have a RED LED, GREEN LED and a RESPOND Function on the Remote Stations. And a RED LED, GREEN LED and TWO Switchs on the Master Station.

I've Looked at all the circuit Diagrams Avalible on the Internet, Although I've used Circuit Diagram before they all seem very complicated. Does Anyone know where I could get a working drawing from or is there anyone with a circuit diagram who can explain in more detail so I can understand.

I would be most Grateful

Many Thanks in Advance.

Tom

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Pretty simple, really, as long as you don't overcomplicate it. Wire the indicators on each circuit in series, so that you know whether or not the red/green on the outstation has come on (if yours does, theirs has! ;)). And put a NC momentary push-button in series with the red at the outstation, so that when they push it it flashes the red at your end (and theirs) off as an acknowledgement. Other than that, it's just a case of finding the right PSU for the job and wiring up a few switches and connectors in a nice case.

Congo I am intrigued, not so much about the cue system but the word "apprentice".

If you have a moment perhaps a fuller explanation would be of interest to us all (?).

Of Course. I Done a Basic Production Course at Chichester College Last Year, The Performing Arts Dept then offered me an Apprenticeship at the College ( Which they'd never done before, this is the first ), So Working along side the Resident Technician as his Apprentice, Aswell as Completing an EDI Lighting, Sound and Rigging Course, Cultral Theatre and Events.