Super simple moving head setup

amc85

Hi, I am wanting to create a very simple setup of just a single, small moving head light. The setup will form part of a prototype to demonstrate the features of a linked technology. All I need for this is a single light that I can programme with my own sequence of movements, so that once I press 'go', it carries out that sequence on its own. I am a total beginner with DMX and I want to spend as little as I can get away with at this stage, so I am after some basic advice on what kind of kit and expense I am looking at to get this basic setup running.

Thanks!

Hello, I'm not sure I understand what you are trying to do - are you wanting a setup with a DMX controller plugged into a moving head light? Or a stand-alone system where the light itself can be programmed (but if so where would the "Go" button be?) What is the "linked technology" and how would it be connecting to your test light setup?

Ok , all very good questions. I'll expand a bit on what I am trying to do. So I am wanting to copy the movements, colour change, intensity etc of a real light, with a light I create inside 3D animation software. So what I would like to do, whether it is with DMX or via some other lower tech method, is to have a light that I can pre-programme so that I can copy that movement via an animated light inside my 3D software. When synced, the two would play their sequences copying one another 1 to 1. The two systems don't have to talk to each other, all I am after really is the illusion that they are linked. I can use a known sequence at the beginning of the physical lights main sequence to trigger the animated light.

I have just been looking in to super low tech solutions such as light timers but they obviously don't give too much control, just to say I'm open to any light control solution that will offer me some degree of pre-programmable control

Thanks