School theatre sound

tonytech

I know its been asked (and answered) before, but before I start begging the govenors for money.....

I'm a Physics technician. I used to manage the school hall/theatre. Hearing loss and jobchanges mean I stepped back.

The stage is 9m wide by 9m deep. 1m from curtains to edge. Parents are complaining that "little Louise" cant be heard.

We had a refurb a few years ago, A&H QU32 mixer, Dynacord amps and speakers. Sadly the budget only streached to 2 Sennheiser G4 head band radio mics.

Ideally I'd like a decent number of radiomics, but .. in a school setting with noone taking full responsibility????

I'd like to install some fixed hanging mics above the stage.. Is it worth the difference in cost between "Pulse" and "Audio Technica"?

I'd also like some PZM/boundary mics on the front of stage, but I'm worried they will get trodden on/kicked.

Lastly I'd like some riflemics (mostly for the "Look I am doing something, I you still cant hear it's not my fault")

I'd love to hire/buy some to try or get professional advice, but I cant do that untill I've put a grovelling letter in and dont want to be shown to change my mind ...

Advice welcomed.

4 hours ago, themadhippy said:

Run away. If you are successful in getting the budget  every time something isnt 101% as every mommy and daddy expect it to be its gonna be your fault.

Been there and have to agree, run away. If Little Louise can't be heard by the audience, what's the chance that a distant microphone will be able to "hear" her.