Tips for a Beginner Backstage Worker - Emmanuel Katto Uganda

emmanuelkatto

Hello everyone!

My name is Emmanuel Katto. I’m new to the world of backstage work and eager to dive in, but I’m unsure where to start. What are some essential skills or knowledge areas that a beginner should focus on? Are there any particular resources or training programs you would recommend to help me get started?

I appreciate any insights or advice you can share!

Thanks in advance!

Best,

Emmanuel Katto

Are you thinking of theatre or live events?

I'm not sure if it works the same in Uganda as in UK, but here in UK getting started is not really about training or skills, it's about knowing the right people and having the right attitude. Find a company who is doing the type of thing you want to do and ask if you can be temporary crew for setting up etc, be honest about your current knowledge or lack of it. Then watch and learn, and be a good person to work with. I'd rather have an inexperienced person who is great to work with, than an obnoxious know it all.

Sometimes going on training courses can be useful to get to know some people who might give you work, but equally you can spend a lot of money on courses and not really get much benefit in terms of actual event work.

4 hours ago, timsabre said:

Are you thinking of theatre or live events?

I'm not sure if it works the same in Uganda as in UK, but here in UK getting started is not really about training or skills, it's about knowing the right people and having the right attitude. Find a company who is doing the type of thing you want to do and ask if you can be temporary crew for setting up etc, be honest about your current knowledge or lack of it. Then watch and learn, and be a good person to work with. I'd rather have an inexperienced person who is great to work with, than an obnoxious know it all.